PEMSEA Collab Event 2021 - Sustainable Interactions with Marine Ecosystems

20 October 2021
Location: Virtual

Join us to discuss how the research of the GCRF Blue Communities programme addresses:
 

  • Ecosystem services from natural capital in the Southeast Asia region
  • Links between the marine coastal environment, ecosystems and human health
  • Predicted changes in marine resources due to climate change and how to prepare for them
  • Trade-offs between conflicting demands on marine resources from different users
  • Strategies for effective communication with and engagement of stakeholders


The event will be organized by the GCRF Blue Communities programme office and will comprise a series of short presentations and panel sessions by project partners from Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Vietnam and the United Kingdom.
 

Building on the Hub Session delivered by the Blue Communities team during the PEMSEA EAS Congress held during November 2018 in Iloilo, this Collab Event will provide an opportunity to share the findings from the research focusing on populations and ecosystems in and around designated UNESCO Biosphere Reserves and a Marine Park, to demonstrate our pathways to impact, and to disseminate the underpinning research approaches that can support marine planning in the Southeast Asia region


Event Date: 20th October 2021
Event time: 07:30-10:30 GMT / 15:30-18:30 PHT

Download the event flyer (400KB, PDF)


Register at https://tinyurl.com/BC-Collab21 by 18th October 2021


Schedule

Session 1

07.30-07.40 GMT/
15.30-15.40 PHT
Introduction & Welcome: About GCRF Blue Communities - Building capacity for sustainable interactions with marine ecosystems for the benefit of the health, well-being, food security and livelihoods of coastal communities in East and Southeast Asia Prof. Melanie Austen, University of Plymouth, UK
07.40-07.50 GMT/
15.45-15.50 PHT
Ecosystem Services from natural capital in the Southeast Asia Region: Examples from Indonesia Carya Maharja, Universitas Nasional, Indonesia
07.50-08.00 GMT/
15.55-16.00 PHT
Ecosystem Services from natural capital in the Southeast Asia Region: Mapping and modelling ecosystems services Dr. Olivia Langmead, University of Plymouth, UK
08.00-08.10 GMT/
16.00-16.10 PHT
 
Links between the marine coastal environment, ecosystems and human health: Well-being and risks of coastal living
 
Dr. Beth Roberts, University of Exeter, UK
08.10-08.20 GMT/
16.10-16.20 PHT
Links between the marine coastal environment, ecosystems and human health: Research in Cu Lao Cham Hoi An, Vietnam Dr. Nguyen Thu Ha, Hanoi National University of Education, Vietnam
08.20-08.45 GMT/
16.20-16.45 PHT
Panel Session: Healthy Ecosystems and healthy people Questions from the audience and panel discussion Panellists (all speakers plus Prof Bruce Maycock)
08.45-08.55 GMT/
16.45-16.55 PHT
 
Break  


Session 2

08.55-09.05 GMT/
16.55-17.05 PHT
Predicted changes in marine resources due to climate change and how to prepare for them: A case study in Sabah, Malaysia.
 
Dr. Wan Mohd Syazwan, Universiti Putra Malaysia & Blue Communities Universiti Malaya, Malaysia
09.05-09.15 GMT/
17.05-17.15 PHT
Trade-offs between conflicting demands on marine resources from different users Dr. Matt Fortnam, University of Exeter, UK
09.15-09.25 GMT/
17.15-17.25 PHT
Strategies for effective communication with and engagement of stakeholders – Examples from Palawan Prof. Lota Creencia & Karen Madarcos, Western Philippines University, Philippines
09.25-09.35 GMT/
17.25-17.35 PHT
The effects of creative engagement for sustainable behaviour change Dr. Isabel Richter, University of Plymouth/NTNU
09.35-10.00 GMT/
17.35-18.00 PHT
Panel Session 2: Multiple users of the marine environment; impacts of climate change and communicating the science
Questions from the audience and panel discussion
Panellists (all speakers plus Prof Tri Hoang, Hanoi National University of Education, Vietnam and Prof David Mills, Worldfish)
10.00-10.30 GMT/
18.00-18.30
Breakout Groups for Networking:
Room 1 Ecosystem Services & human health;
Room 2 Climate Change & conflicting demands;
Room 3 Communicating with stakeholders
All participants
10.30 GMT/18.30 PHT Close  

Download schedule as PDF (180KB)
Click here for more information

Other upcoming events

The International Conference on Tropical Sciences: Contributions to Sustainability (TropSC 2021)

25 October 2021 - 27 October 2021

Location: Kuala Lumpur

East Asian Seas Congress 2021

01 December 2021 - 02 December 2021

Location: Sihanoukville, Cambodia